Word from the President

Welcome to the Suffolk Poetry Society. It's a privilege to be President of one of Britain's oldest poetry societies which has been promoting poetry in Suffolk and beyond for well over half a century. Although poetry is created in solitude and can be read in silence, it comes alive, rather like music, when it is spoken aloud and shared with a group of like minded people. The principal aim of the Society is to create a community where poets or lovers of poetry can find a home in a world in which poetry is too often cast aside to the margins.

Word from the Chairman

As Chairman of Suffolk Poetry Society it is a great honour to welcome you to our website where you will find details of all our upcoming events and supported activities and cafés. As poetry lovers whether you write yourself or not we have something for you.

The London Magazine Poetry Competition

For the first time since its resurgence, The London Magazine will be hosting a worldwide poetry competition which will be open for all ages.

This will be a chance to get published in the most prestigious literary journal in the UK which has been home to Sylvia Plath, Ted Hughes, Christopher Reid and many more, along with winning a cash prize.

Opening date: 1st May 2014              Deadline: 30th June 2014

SPS 1st Festival of Suffolk Poetry

SPS Festival of Suffolk PoetrySuffolk Poetry Society is one of the oldest poetry societies in the country. It was formed as Suffolk Poetry Society in 1952, but even that was a reformation of the Suffolk Poetry Club which began in 1928. The Suffolk Poetry Club ran until the outbreak of war in 1939.

Suffolk Poetry Society AGM 2014

The 2014 Annual General Meeting was held on the 16th March at the Red Cross Hall, Woodbridge.

34 members attended for what was a very important meeting with potential to change the future course of the society.

Pauline Stainer opened the meeting as current President, then stepped down  to be replaced by James Knox Whittet. However, before stepping down she thanked the retiring Chair, Anne Boileau, for guiding the society so well during the previous three years and presented her with flowers.

Desert Island Poems with Lord Andrew Phillips of Sudbury and Dr Ronald Blythe

Desert Island Poems with Lord Andrew Phillips and Dr Ronald Blythe was a fascinating and highly entertaining evening.

These are the poems read, in the order they were read, and the readers along with the cafés they represented:

Hippocrates Initiative for Poetry and Medicine

This year the Hippocrates Initiative for Poetry and Medicine celebrates its 5th International Symposium on the 10th May 2014. The results of this year's Hippocrates Prize will be announced and we will hear from speakers from all over the world.

Buxton Poetry Competition 2014

Buxton Poetry Competition 2014 is now open for entries. The theme this year is ‘The Natural World’.

We are delighted to welcome a new judge this year – Helen Mort who is the new Derbyshire Poet Laureate.

The closing date is 7th April 2014.

For more information and to download an entry form please visit http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk/outreach/poetry-competition/.

12 Rivers – Let’s have your contributions!

In Suffolk we seem to have escaped the worst of the floods in our twelve rivers, but this has been a reminder that it is time to think about our next issue!

I have already had some good contributions and am especially pleased to have signed up two of our leading poets, Pauline Stainer and James Knox Whittet, to write reviews of two of the excellent new poetry books from our very creative county.

Poetry-next-the-Sea 2014

17th Wells Poetry Festival

Friday 9th-Sunday 11th May 2014

The Maltings, Staithe Street, Wells-next-the-Sea, NR22 6AB

Registered Charity No: 1139369

9 May, 2014 (All day) - 11 May, 2014 (All day)
Syndicate content