Crabbe Competition 2019

Crabbe Competition 2019

Tiffany Atkinson
Tiffany Atkinson

We are very pleased that Tiffany Atkinson has agreed to be our adjudicator for the 2019 Crabbe Poetry Prize. She is the Professor of Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia, has published several collections of Poetry, including Kink and Particle (which won the Jerwood Aldeburgh First Collection Prize) Catulla et al (which was TLS Book of the Year) and So Many Moving Parts (which was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and won the Roland Mathias Poetry Award – Wales book of the Year). She has a strong interest in the medical humanities, especially the history of anatomy and representations of the body and has written several critical essays about the poetics of embarrassment.

The closing date for the competition is 29th June 2019.





Entry fees: £3 for each poem.

Entries to be sent to:

The Competition Secretary, 23 Century Road, Eye, Suffolk, IP23 7LE

Competition Rules:

• Entrants should either have been born, or educated, work or be resident in Suffolk, or be a member of Suffolk Poetry Society (see information below).
• Poems should be in English and a maximum of 50 lines.
• Poems must be the writer's own work, not published, broadcast, on a website, or currently entered in any other competition.

• Each poem must be typed on a separate sheet of A4 paper and submitted in DUPLICATE with the fee. The poet's name should appear on one copy only.
• The adjudicator’s decision is final.
• No entrant can win more than one monetary prize.

Only winners will be notified. Winners will be listed on the website in September 2017. • The Press will also be notified of the winning poets and poems.
• Copyright of the poem remains with the poet, with permission to the Suffolk Poetry Society to publish any winning poem free of charge.